irchesterprimaryschool logo header

smallslider 0

The board of governors at Irchester Community Primary School take an active and supportive interest in all aspects of school life.  The current governors are drawn from a wide cross section of the community.

The role of governors and governing bodies is to help the school provide the best possible education for their pupils by

  • Setting the school’s values, vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies, and making creative use of resources;
  • Monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Headteacher to support and challenge them in managing the school;
  • Ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs.

The current Board of Governors

Irchester Community Primary School: Governor List September 2016
                              TypeFull NameStart/EndPositionCommittee AffiliationOther Governor Positions HeldAttendance Record 2016/17Attendance Record 2017/18
  Clerk Ms Angela Scheidegger 17 Oct 2012 Clerk Clerk at FGB meetings only Clerk of Governors at various schools 5/5 FGB meetings 1/1 FGB meetings
 Julia Alison Governing Body Head Mrs Julia   ALISON 01 Sep 2009 Headteacher S&SI Committee Chairs' Group
Pay Committee
FaRM Committee
  5/5 FGB; 3/3 Chairs' Group; 3/3 FaRM; 2/2 S&SI 1/1 FGB; 1/1 Chairs' Group; 1/1 FaRM; 1/1 Pay Committee
 Julie Lea Governing Body LA Governor Mrs Julie

April 2013 - March 2017

Jan 2017-March 2021

Chair Of Governors

took over Chair of FaRM Feb 2017

S&SI Committee

Chairs Group

HYPM and Pay Committee

Member of Staff at Wollaston Secondary School (Learning Support Assistant) re-appointed LA Governor Jan 2017 5/5 FGB; 3/3 Chairs' Group; 2/3 FaRM; 1/2 S&SI; 2/2 3/1 HTPM and Pay 1/1 FGB; 1/1 Chairs' Group; 1/1 FaRM; 1/1 S&SI; 1/1 HTPM and Pay
 Vanessa Tear Elected Parent Mrs. Vanessa TEAR Oct 2016 - Sept 2020   S&SI Committee Member of Staff at Preston Hedges Primary School (SENCo)  5/5 FGB; 2/2 S&SI 1/1 FGB; 1/1 S&SI
 Ben Leeson Elected Parent Mr Ben LEESON Oct 2016 - Sept 2020  Chair of FaRM FaRM Committee   5/5 FGB; 3/3 FaRM 1/1 FGB; 1/1 FaRM
 Viv Hall Librarian Elected Staff Mrs Viv HALL Sept 2017 - Aug 2021   S&SI Committee      1/1 FGB
 Jason Baker Governor Elected Parent Mr Jason BAKER May 2017 - April 2021   FaRM Committee   1/1 FGB 1/1 FGB
 James Bailey Co-opted Mr James Bailey April 2018 -May 2022   FaRM Committee    0/5 FGB; 1/2 S&SI  0/1 FGB; 0/1FaRM
 Joanne Thom Governing Body Co-opted Mrs. Jo THOM Oct 2016 - Sept 2018 Vice Chair of FaRM  FaRM Committee Part-time staff member at ICPS Re Co-opted Oct 2017 5/5 FGB; 2/3 FaRM; 1/1 Chairs' Group 1/1 FGB; 1/1 FaRM
  Co-opted Mr Vijay PAUL Oct 2016 - Sept 2018 Vice Chair of Governors  FaRM Committee Newly Co-opted Governor following reconstitution October 2016 Re co-opted Oct 2017 2/5/FGB; 2/3 FaRM 1/1 FGB; 0/1 FaRM
 Jean Paul Carr Co-opted Mr Jon-Paul CARR Oct 2016 - Sept 2018   S&SI Committee Newly Co-opted Governor following reconstitution October 2016 Re co-opted Oct 2017 4/5 FGB; 1/3 S&SI 1/1 FGB; 1/1 S&SI
 Nichola Brown Co opted Governor 2  Co-opted Mrs Nichola BROWN Oct 2017-Sept 2018   S&SI Committee     1/1 FGB

Additional information

Parents have the right to receive copies of any school policies or information held about their child. Should you wish to access any such information please contact the Head teacher in writing.

Questions, Queries, Concerns and Complaints

Should any problem arise, however small, we hope that you will discuss it with the Class Teacher or if unresolved, the Deputy Head teacher or Head teacher.  Please telephone first if at all possible, to ensure that someone is free to see you. The majority of problems can be resolved at this level.

Should we be unable to resolve a problem or concern, then parents have the right to make a formal complaint. In the first instance, they should contact the Chair of Governors, at the school address. All complaints are dealt with following the Northamptonshire County Council complaints procedure.